A letter

Breathing space and a Top Ramen baby.

In Welcomed Fall on October 1, 2015 at 11:15 pm



I feel like the last week has been one giant sigh of relief. We are moved. I am done packing. We love our new place. Did I mention that I don’t have to pack any more? Relief. I’m not sure we knew it was possible to love a place so much, or to feel at home as quickly as we do. It feels this space was made just for us. As you know, I’ve always loved books with big blank margins. I love the thinking space it provides. Well, this place is similar, but it has breathing space found in 14′ foot ceilings and magnificent 8′ foot windows. But even more than natural breathing space is the space we feel in our souls as this season has changed.

Everything has shiftedeverything. How a season that seemed to linger for ages can change so quickly is a mystery. It only seems explainable by His writing of our life’s story. Never have we craved and needed change so much, and never have we watched our world shift so drastically in such a short period of time. Work has come flooding in, friends have appeared out of nowhere, joy and peace greet us in the morning, where only dread and worry seemed to dwell before. Our souls have room to breathe again and it feels so dang good. There is however one thing that has marked this change of season for us more than anything else and I can hardly believe it’s real: In early April there will be five of us. We’re having a baby!

Yes, you heard me correctly. I still can’t believe it’s real. We’re having a baby. There is nothing quite like finding out you have to move and finding out you’re having a baby in the same week. But nothing screams blessing over a new chapter of life more than finding out you’re having a squishy little cuddly baby. Leon was my burger baby, Sol my baked-potato-with-the-works-baby, and so far, this one is my Top Ramen baby. Maybe it means it’s a little lady…EEEK! Hopefully my Top Ramen cravings aren’t an indicator of the baby’s overall palate because we will have some serious work to do if so. For now, I crave it, it tastes so stinking good, and anything that tastes good is a win.

To say I am thankful is an overwhelming understatement. I am in awe of His timing and His crafting of our story. I’m thankful that He is the author. He writes a far better story that me. And, it’s really true that winters can’t last forever. Seasons always change, and ours has just changed in every sort of wonderful way.

Love you dearly,

Bep


  

  1. Congratulations and I’m so happy for you guys and this new season! Your home looks lovely.

  2. Aw, I’m so happy for you and your boys. I want to see more pictures of your house though. Looks so roomy. I’m a huge fan of high ceilings. And such a fan of you! And your new baby. Girl! Girl! Girl! (chant)

Leave a Reply

