A letter

Tending souls…

In Spring in New York on May 12, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Hope you had a great mother’s day.  We brunched at home and it was perfect!  The boys got new shoes this week and Sol claims to jump higher, and Leon can run faster.  I wish I could say the same, but I’m pretty slow and not so springy.

Well, I’m sure you’re still wondering, and so are we, kind-of.  Yes, we’re still waiting.  Our waiting has changed though.  We are waiting less on “something to happen” and waiting more on us “making it happen”.  When heaven seems silent, it’s our time to work like it depends on us, we already know the rest depends on Him.   His part is not always easy to see, or I should say, His timing not always visible, but our part is in plain view.  We’ve been given hands, feet, brains and courageous hearts.  And, we are quickly learning that courage is action not an emotion.  One foot in front of the other.  One day, then the next.  One daring leap of faith, then one more.  Thus is the nature of our life at the moment.  Don’t be surprised in a few months if we are lawyers, designers, film makers, writers, and musicians all simultaneously.  Stranger things have happened.  And, I’m sure this is as surprising to you as snow in winter.

All of this has led us to tending our souls more attentively.  We’re realizing if souls aren’t tended, then hearts go frail, and life’s vitality wanes.  And, as you know, souls even go with us on vacation (not that we’ve had one).  Maybe you can serve as a post-it-note reminding me of this small yet monumental task of soul tending if I am ever to forget it again.  The health of my soul is the health of my life.  Period.  This is a big deal.  I think you should do something you enjoy! And, take note of things that drain you.  It’s not a suggestion, it’s an order.  Refresh your soul!

Our 67 day mentor, Mr. Lopez, said something that has been in my head all day.  He was talking about the daily grind being what life is. We all have one–a daily grind that is.  If I am trying to escape the grind as my life goal, then I have much deeper issues going on.  I love this thought.  The goal shouldn’t be to escape. Living should be the goal.   My thoughts are beginning to rabbit trail, just like my dad, so I’ll stop before you can’t find me.  I envision a picnic and lengthy conversation over this one, soon.

To living OUR personal daily grind, well!

Bep

Image-1

Image-1 (2)Image-1 (1)

Leave a Reply

