A letter

Stopping to ponder the good….

In Landing on November 17, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Giving of thanks. That is what I shall think about, and what I shall call this grand day of Thanksgiving. Even in a time, when the more-than-enough provision of the Lord seems scarce at times, I have chosen to be thankful. His provision is never shy, it’s often my perspective that comes up just a bit short.  He is always showing up on time, with things I had not thought of and plenty of what I had thought of.  God is probably laughing at me, and my stress over things that really don’t matter. I have been daily thinking of things that I am thankful for. I am overjoyed that my big and only big sis came to visit. Such a grand time. I can’t remember sharing a bed since she got married, though we used to for some 18 odd years. So fun. We pinterested and drooled over household wants until we were a soaking wet mess of inspiration. What fun. Grateful that Bonte’, Lee and Luke live in the same time zone. Thankful for Lizzy Daz’s Law school-fall-survival package. I kid you not, her festive counter spray was the sole reason I hand washed my kitchen floor. (it’s sort of a counter right?) I am thankful for random fallen trees in our mini forrest that provided me a grandeur wreath for the holidays. I am thankful for my amazing double stroller that is used daily and a life saver in this law school season. I rejoice over our amazing families and love and memories surrounding each one. I’m thankful for the little things: finding a new kitchen rug at Ross, getting an early birthday present, Solie’s new found talent of crawling, Leon’s new grown hair that can now stand on end, New friends to be learned, old ones to be enjoyed, throw pillows in absurd numbers, random objects to be smiled at and egg nog lattes that can now be made for cheap using Via!!!! I am also thankful for Thanksgiving plans with Bonte’, Lee and Luke. I am also head over heals in love with the man of my dreams, and couldn’t be more thankful for him! Most of all, I am thankful for someone like Jesus, who, while in this wretched state loves me ever so tenderly. Someone who actually delights in me, despite my shortcomings which are too many to count. Instead I will count my blessings. They are many. All my selfishness, and mishaps and less than lovely-nesses are forgiven. They are washed away into a sea where, though one could choose to remember them, does not ever recall them. If deep gratitude cannot well up upon such a thought, I am not sure if any thought could muster gratitude at all. Though I miss everyone deeply, and so wish I could be home, I am abundantly blessed!

Bep


Leave a Reply

