A letter

If the suit fits, wear it…

In Landing on September 28, 2011 at 11:55 am

I had one of those moments when life is put in perspective.  In those moments I always wish this new found perspective had come sooner.  Its as if someone takes you up above the clouds.  It’s in that up above place when things that seemed so heavy suddenly feel lighter and things that seemed enormous suddenly feel tiny.  It was Regent’s 25 year anniversary of the Law School this month.  They hosted a 600 + person dinner in honor of the anniversary with keynote speaker, Justice Samuel Alito. I should have been excited to hear such a great man speak, but honestly, I was more excited to get fancied up and go out on the town, alone, with my man.  While he was speaking, it was as if the world stood still for me and I realized just how great a man I am married to, how humbling it is to be called on such a journey, and maybe, for the first time in a while, excited for what the future holds, not only for David, but for me.  I think the past few months have, if gently put, bogged me down.  In the midst of some of the hardest months of my life, I had most definitely lost sight of the bigger picture. My heart has been in a mess, and in such a mess that I felt I might never see clearly why we are here.  Thankfully, I think I caught a much needed glimpse of why we are here.  It’s not merely a good idea, or a bad idea, or ants in our pants that put us here in this place called Virginia Beach, but the hand of Almighty God.  I know David will be used to do great things.  What exactly I do not know.  But this I do know, things will be altered, lives will be changed, people will be defended, and justice will be preserved.  That is why we are here.  For now it might look like a mountain with things I may or may not be ready to face.  But in light of eternity, it’s only a moment here.  I was reminded of that again later this week in a Law Wives bible study. ( A Study in which I sat through as an absolute mess inside listening to ladies that seem in a whole class above me, full of grace for the season at hand.  But that is a different story altogether).  I will just say again the revelation I am letting sink in: In light of Eternity, this season is but a moment.  And, if the suit fits, in our case, we should wear it.

With contemplation,

Bep

  1. This was beautiful.
    I would love to say this is the only time in your life you will feel this way, but as a mother of two wonderful bright little boys (and maybe you will have more children) your journey has only just begun. But what makes your future journeys possible (and successful with tons of peace) is the fact you are putting our God’s plan first and foremost above yourself. You are willing to take His hand in the darkness, and trust Him and follow Him even though you can’t see the path. Dear friend you are truly living what our Lord has asked us to do – obey, trust, wait and expect.

    Mike and I just celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary, and I can say that the role I have played in his career success (for our Lord) has been just as needed as it was necessary for him to go to the office every day and be His hands and feet. Yes, David is the one going to Law school, but without you being on the home front cheering him on, encouraging him, reminding him of his role in the Kingdom, David can’t be the man God created him to be. You are needed for all this too.

    You are growing into such a Godly woman Bethany, I feel priviledged to be able to see the growth. Yes, our God has great plans for you and David. This I know.

    Love and prayers – gin

  2. Wow! That is so good! I have been doing a study on the “wilderness” lately and it sounds like you are in one! Something that was said this week was this: God will comfort us by His Spirit. Trust Him with the wilderness. Don’t try to figure it out, don’t fix it, Yield to it! There are some things we don’t know about ourselves until we are put in a position where we have to see God’s power working through us.

    I so enjoyed reading your note. I have always enjoyed your ability to express yourself, especially in written form!

    God’s ways are so different from ours!! You are in the right place!

    thoughts and thanks,
    bridget :o)

  3. Amazing Bep. I love your blog. Love you so much beppy.

Leave a Reply

